Our Governors

The purpose of a Governing Body is to:
  • help the school to set high standards by planning for the future and setting targets for improvement,
  • keep the pressure up on school improvement,
  • be a critical friend to the school, offering support and advice,
  • help the school respond to the needs of parents and the community,
  • make the school accountable to the public for what it does,
  • work with the school on planning, developing policies and keeping the school under review,
  • exercise its responsibilities and powers in partnership with the headteacher and staff,
  • not intervene in the day-to-day management of the school unless there are weaknesses in the school, when it then has a duty to take action.
(Department for Education, March 2011)

A new Federation Governing Body covering both Polehampton Schools was legally formed on September 1st 2011.
The Instrument of Government was reviewed in Autumn 15.
Please see the latest Polehampton Federation Governorlink Newsletter (attached at the bottom of this page) for more details on the work of our Governing Body. 

Governing Body:

Type Name Committee Area of Responsibility
Foundation Joelle Cooper
Foundation             Deborah Procter

Listening Governor
Foundation         Rosemary Hay    
Inclusion (SEND & more able)
Local Authorityvacancy

Co-opted     Allistaire Leighton-Young
Safeguarding / Looked-After Children
Co-opted     James Smith Chair of Finance & HR
Co-opted Brian Rogers     Chair of School & Community
Co-opted    Caroline Harrison    Chair of Governors Foundation Stage
Co-optedNicola Bradshaw

Co-opted    Vacancy
Parent - Junior         Sarah Pickard Vice-chair of Governors
Parent - InfantAbigail LaceyChair of Teaching, Learning & Assessment 
Headteacher - Infant  Helen Ball

Headteacher - JuniorPenny Litson

Staff         Julie Long

Associate Governor    Hazel Snellgrove
Deputy Headteacher - Infant 
Liz Castell
Deputy Headteacher - Junior

Lisa Spooner
Clerk to the Governors
Terms of Office:

 Name Start Date End Date Term Appointed By
 Allistaire Leighton-Young 17/01/201618/01/2020      4 yearsGoverning Body
 Caroline Harrison 23/09/2014     22/09/2018 4 yearsGoverning Body
 James Smith 23/09/2014 22/09/2018 4 yearsGoverning Body
 Vacancy n/a   n/a 4 years Governing Body
 Nicola Bradshaw 10/02/2014     09/02/2018 4 years Staff / Governing Body
 Brian Rogers 07/07/2014 06/07/2018 4 years     Governing Body
Joelle Cooper July 16    July 2020 4 years     Diocese
 Rosemary Hay 03/12/201402/12/2018  4 years Diocese
 Deborah Procter 03/11/2014   02/11/2018 4 years     Diocese
 Penny Litson 01/09/2015 ongoing ongoing Ex Officio
 Helen Ball 01/09/2015 ongoing ongoing Ex Officio

 4 years Local Authority
 Abigail Lacey 14/10/2014 13/10/2018 4 years Parents
 Sarah Pickard 03/10/2014 02/10/2018 4 years Parents
 Julie Long 12/11/2014 11/11/2018 4 years Staff
 Becca Perkins
 28/09/15  Governing Body
 Liz Castell
 28/09/15   Governing Body


Name    Full Governing Body Meetings 2014/2015Committee Attendance 2014/2015
Allistaire Leighton-Young 6/6 meetings pending
Caroline Harrison 6/6 pending
James Smith 6/6 pending
Vacancy n/a n/a
Nicola Bradshaw 6/6 pending
Brian Rogers 5/6 pending
Vacancy n/a n/a
Rosemary Hay 6/6 pending
Deborah Procter 5/6 pending
Penny Litson 6/6 pending
Helen Ball 6/6 pending
Debbie Richards 4/6 pending
Abigail Lacey 5/6 pending
Sarah Pickard 6/6 pending
Julie Long 6/6 pending

Previous Governors

These governors left the Governing Body in the last twelve months:

 Category Name
 Co-opted Sotos Mandalos
 Co-opted Paul Youngman
Local Authority      Debbie Richards
 Foundation Bridget Howard (until 7.2.2016)

Register of Other Interests as at November 2015

Governors resolved to disclose all directorships and trusteeships.

 Name Other Interests
Allistaire Leighton-Young Director (The Bid Centre Ltd)
Caroline Harrison  Parent, Director (RB Phusion Ltd)
James Smith Parent, Various Directorships of BG Group PLC 
Nicola Bradshaw Staff, Parent
Brian Rogers Trustee (Twyford Snooker Club)
Deborah Procter Parent
Penny Litson Staff, Trustee (David George Trust)
 Helen Ball Staff
Joelle CooperParent
 Abigail Lacey Parent
 Sarah Pickard Parent, Director (New Road Consulting Ltd)
 Julie Long Staff
 Becca Perkins - Associate     Staff
 Liz Castell - Associate Staff


GOVERNORLINK was our termly newsletter which kept parents, carers and the wider community up-to-date with the Governors work in school. 
Governors now feedback to parents on our weekly newsletters.